Macross Frontier, THE MOVIE

It seems to be a pretty common practice now that if you make an awesome anime series, you can then turn it into a movie. Gurren Lagann is doing it and now Macross Frontier is doing it. I LOVE(D) Macross F. I’m actually really happy I finally got around to watching the original lore so that I could watch it. Macross F has been an amazing ride, with top notch animation, outstanding soundtrack, and throwbacks to the past series it DESERVES the praise that it gets.

But truthfully, I don’t know if I support the idea of turning these 25 episode shows into a movie or two. I’m worried that things that defined the show like Sheryl’s and Ranka’s “What ’bout my Star” duet, won’t be there. Pineapple Cake, MacrossZero episode, Ranka’s live debut. There is just too much awesome in the show, can they really fit it all in a movie?

And the animation itself can’t get that much better then it already is, the soundtrack is in pretty much the same boat, the only thing that might happen is only having to hear Aimo half as much. And of course there is going to be loss in story, there always is. I might do a real post on what I think about the show. Simple words would put it as BEST SHOW OF THE YEAR.

3 Responses to Macross Frontier, THE MOVIE

  1. Kitsune says:

    The question is whether it will be a retelling or a sequel.

  2. bluestreak2 says:

    The way I read the article it sounds like it will be a retelling. Hence my reference to Gurren Lagann.

  3. Kitsune says:

    Well, we have to consider the source of the article. All they got is a screenshot from the latest episode. Given how anime ended, it is more likely to be a sequel.

Leave a Reply

