Zero no Tsukaima: Celebrating a Lousy Ending

The third season is over. I wasn’t impressed. All the production values are pretty much the same as before. But the story itself was no where near as strong as before. I’ve never been a big fan of the series, I will admit that. But I actually liked the second season, it finally had some progress in the relationship, and it ended with a bang. This season’s end felt like what you would see in a half way point of the story, and the entire Louise loosing her magic for half an episode felt out of place.

The season started with Louise being afraid that Saito would no longer be her familiar, and without that he wouldn’t have a reason to be with her. And it ended with her being afraid that it was because he was her familiar that he loved her. In the end no progress was made the entire season on their relationship, every step forward was always met with at least one step back.

They introduced a lot in this season, multiple void mages and each one has a human familiar with a special ability, along with the identity of the new big bad. Elves were introduced and with them came nature magic. Saito can read now so I guess he can’t accidentally walk into the girls bathroom anymore and claim he didn’t know. We have another contender, Tabitha, who desperately wants to sleep with Saito. Two new sets of fanservice, Irukuku and Tiffinia(Bust Revolution). And a hot and steamy relationship between the dethroned (no longer largest breasts in the show) Kirche and the back from the dead Colbert(I bet she does it for the extra credit in class).

Overall I wasn’t impressed, and while I’m sure I’ll watch the next season I really wonder why I keep coming back just to get disappointed. There is no doubt in my mind that there will be a fourth season sometime in 2009, in fact if there isn’t an announcement about it by the time Toradora ends I’ll be truly shocked.

In the meantime, I offer you readers some highdef pics.

One Response to Zero no Tsukaima: Celebrating a Lousy Ending

  1. Anonymous says:

    how dare you call it a lousy ending ?! im a big fan of zero no tsukaima and why did you even wrote this lousy blog anyway ??

Leave a Reply

