Serial Experiments Lain, Buried Treasure?

2007-08-21-68446

At least according to ANN’s Justin Sevacis, and thinking about it, he might be right. But it’s only natural that a show from 10 years ago would be pushed to the side as more and more anime floods the market. Mixed with the fact that Geneon is no longer even a distributor of anime in the US anymore doesn’t help.

For myself I first saw the show on Anime Unleashed, wayyyyy back when Kazaa and Emule were a true pain to get any anime from, I would still watch most of my shows dubbed and with commercials. Later I bought the DVDs from Pioneer/Geneon and watched them again. And while the show may not feel as groundbreaking as it would have back in 1998, this show is still one of a kind.

2008-09-30-117444

This is his response to the sudden rush of “OMG, lain isn’t buried treasure” in the ANN forums,

“Lain is now 10-years-old, seldom spoken of (especially among younger/newer fans), and has been OOP for over a year now.

Granted, it’s faaaar from the most obscure thing I’ve written about, but I can’t keep writing about the completely unknown all the time. Readers disengage, and I run out of shows quicker. Gotta pace yourself.”

It’s true that I haven’t seen many newer fans talking about the show. It hasn’t been on American TV since about 2003, though it was shown in Canada in 2007. But there is one part that I would argue about, the art style is still very popular, especially the character designs by Yoshitoshi ABe. I still see her pop up on imageboards occasionally and if they haven’t forgotten about her I don’t think she’s buried just yet.

2008-09-30-117443

Really I think being forgotten to time is true of all shows. And while it could be possible that Lain will someday be forgotten. I don’t think it’s her time just yet. I believe the show still has enough of a “Classic” status among anime fans that it can survive. We just need to find some way of exposing these older shows to the younger crowd, give the shows Akira kind of status somehow.

2 Responses to Serial Experiments Lain, Buried Treasure?

  1. Tammy says:

    Good information. Lucky me I ran across your
    blog by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

  2. bluestreak2 says:

    Thank you for the comment. I have neglected this blog over the last few years. But it is always appreciated to see a comment.

Leave a Reply

